Relevant Quotes in Pride and Prejudice

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”  

According to many writers and Authors, this being the opening line is well known for its powerful background meaning to the history of literature. The most known line in the book talks about the fortunes of men and the fortunes of having money and the obvious wants of a nice wife to settle down with. I feel as if men today go by the same ideas. If a man is wealthy enough and is fortunate enough to live a good life, than that man is going to want a wife to maybe spoil or show off or maybe a wife to settle down with. Maybe he would like to show his caring and passionate side, and not just the fortune side. In Society today, it seems as if sometimes, the people who show the most love and compassion for a partner are the ones who dont have much. They understand the true values of appreciation and hard work.


 

“Angry people are not always wise.”

What I think Jane Austen means by writing this, is that when some people are in a state of anger or despair, their decision making is impaired and dont always have the best ideas and thoughts. They are sometime distracted by their anger and make stupid decisions that they thing are right at the time, but will regret them later. I know that when I am mad, my ethical and moral ideas and decisions go out the door along with my logic and are replaced with stupidity and regret and I know I dont want that.


 

“I must learn to be content with being happier than I deserve.”

Some people are just naturally lucky and deserve more than they may think. The things they received could be excessive, but theirs not many things people can do. If Someone is born into a family with much wealth, fortune and riches, those people need to learn to be content with what they have and respect themselves. There are 2 types of people; the people who abuse that power and became very selfish and ignorant and think that materialized things are so much more important than the self values you learn yourself. The 2nd type of a person is the one who is charitable and generous with his fortunes and does not just treat himself.


 

“Till this moment I never knew myself.”

I think this quote has alot do do with people and the learning of themselves. I know Jane Austen had to write alot, make new characters and write so many stories to discover who she was as a person. personally, I feel the same way; I grew up questioning who I was as a person and I had to learn new things, master my skills and find myself and find my true values before I knew who I was as a person.

Leave a Reply

